If you get into a car accident without the required insurance coverage, the consequences could be steep. The Georgia Department of Revenue notes that without insurance, you could face fines, license suspension, and even criminal charges.
Additionally, without liability insurance, you could be personally liable for any damage you caused if you were at fault. The lack of insurance coverage could also limit your ability to secure compensation for your injuries.
Liability Insurance Requirements in Georgia
There is a minimum amount of liability coverage every driver must procure before they can register their vehicle. Liability coverage insures a driver from claims made by third parties following an accident. In other words, this type of insurance can pay for another person’s damages when they are injured in an accident you cause.
The Georgia Department of Insurance notes that there are three different types of insurance you must carry. State law requires a minimum amount of coverage for property damage, bodily injuries per person, and the total amount of bodily injury coverage per accident. These requirements include:
- $25,000 for injuries per person in an accident
- $50,000 for injuries per accident
- $25,000 for property damage
Liability insurance is the only type of mandated coverage under the law. However, there are numerous forms of voluntary insurance coverage, including collision insurance, medical payments coverage, and uninsured motorist coverage.
For a free legal consultation, call 404-214-2001
What Happens if You Get Into an Accident Without Insurance?
Here are some consequences you could face if you cause an accident without insurance:
You Could Be Forced to Pay Out of Pocket for the Other Party’s Losses
If you were responsible for the accident, the lack of insurance coverage could be a costly problem. Georgia is a “tort state,” which means the party that causes an accident can be held financially responsible for any damages.
If you do not have liability coverage, you could be on the hook for these damages on your own. Remember: car accident injuries can lead to costly medical expenses and other losses. Dealing with these expenses without the help of an insurance company can be overwhelming for many people.
The Other Party Could Sue You in Civil Court
Every insurer in Georgia is required to offer claimants uninsured motorist protection coverage, per O.C.G.A. § 33-7-11. So, if the other party in your case had this coverage, they could recoup compensation for their damages through that avenue.
However, if not, then they could file a lawsuit directly against you. If you don’t have the funds to pay for their expenses, the courts could put a lien on your house or seize some of your assets. This could endanger your financial stability in the future.
You Could Be Charged and Convicted of a Misdemeanor
O.C.G.A. § 40-6-10 notes that if you get into an accident without insurance, you could be charged and convicted of a misdemeanor. Under this statute, you could face:
- A fine costing anywhere from $200 to $1,000
- Up to 12 months in prison
- The loss of your driving privileges for 60 to 90 days
If you had insurance but could not provide proof to the attending law enforcement official, you could be charged with a $25 fine. Most of the time, after showing that you had insurance to the authorities and paying the fine, you would not face any more penalties.
You Have Options if You Got Into an Accident with No Insurance
While you’re required to carry insurance in Georgia, that doesn’t automatically make you liable for a collision. If another party’s negligence caused a crash, you could avoid paying for their losses. To do this, you must prove that the other party caused most of the crash, per O.C.G.A. § 51-12-33.
With our team on your side, we can prove fault by:
- Reviewing the police report
- Talking to eyewitnesses and accident reconstruction specialists
- Looking at traffic camera footage and photos of the accident scene
- Analyzing physical evidence, like skid marks and debris from the collision
You could still face criminal charges if you were driving without insurance. However, if we can prove that you didn’t cause the collision, you could avoid liability for the other party’s damages.
Click to contact our personal injury lawyers today
You Have Options if You Were Hurt By an Uninsured Driver
You have financial recovery options if you were hurt by a negligent, uninsured driver. First things first, you might have uninsured motorist protection coverage without even knowing it because to reject this form of coverage, you must have done so in writing. So, in this instance, you could recoup compensation by filing a claim with your own insurer.
If not, however, you could sue the other driver for the cost of your damages. Our firm can handle everything associated with filing a lawsuit and pursuing your case.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Talk to Our Law Firm Following a Car Accident
If you were involved in an accident where either you or the other party didn’t have insurance, we can determine your legal options. During your free case review, you can explore your options with our team and decide whether legal action is right for you.
To connect with Kaine Law, dial (404) 214-2001. We can also give more insight into what happens if you get into a car accident without insurance.