If your Lyft gets into an accident, what you should do is stop, alert authorities, and seek medical treatment if needed. Once you are safe, consider seeking compensation for your injuries and damages. You may be able to recover your medical expenses, lost wages, and more.
What Should You Do Immediately Following a Lyft Accident?
There are a few steps you can take to protect your health and your right to seek compensation after a Lyft accident.
Stop and Call for Help
O.C.G.A § 40-6-270 states that the first thing you must do after any car accident in Georgia is stop. Failing to do so could qualify as a hit-and-run. Next, you should check yourself for injuries and, if possible, see if others are hurt. If you or anyone else needs medical attention, call 911. If you can, attempt to render aid.
Even if you and others involved in the crash sustained only moderate injuries or vehicle damages, you still need to contact local law enforcement. According to O.C.G.A. § 40-6-273, you must report any accident involving bodily injuries, death, or property damages exceeding $500 to the police or sheriff’s department.
If you are physically able, you should get contact and insurance information from your Lyft driver and any other drivers involved in the crash. It is also a good idea to record additional information that may be useful if you decide to pursue a car accident claim or lawsuit, including license plate numbers, driver’s license numbers, the make, model, and color of the involved vehicles, and photos of the damages.
Law enforcement officers at the scene will also collect this information, which you can obtain later if your injuries prevent you from doing so at the time of the crash.
Seek Medical Treatment
If you did not receive medical treatment at the scene of your accident, you should do so as soon as you suspect you may have suffered an injury. Sometimes, conditions like whiplash, internal damage, and fractures do not present immediately. Seeking treatment ensures you are physically healthy, prevents injuries from worsening, and creates a medical record.
If you have injuries, incur medical bills, or must take time off from work, consider consulting with a lawyer with our firm about recovering your financial losses.
For a free legal consultation, call 404-214-2001
Recoverable Lyft Accident Damages
You have the right to pursue awards for injuries and damages if your Lyft gets in an accident. We can help you seek compensation for:
- Current and future medical expenses
- Lost wages, earnings, and benefits
- Reduced earning capacity
- Personal property damages
- Physical pain
- Disabling injuries
- Scarring and disfigurement
- Mental and emotional suffering
- Lost quality of life
- Wrongful death of a loved one
Who Is Liable for Your Lyft Accident?
As with any motor vehicle accident, liability rests with the party who caused the collision with their negligent actions. Examples of driver negligence include:
- Texting and driving
- Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs
- Failure to stop at a stop sign or red light
- Failure to yield the right of way
- Illegal passing
- Making an improper turn
- Aggressive driving (“road rage”)
If the Lyft Driver Is Responsible
According to O.C.G.A. 33-1-24, transportation network companies (TCNs) operating in Georgia must provide drivers with up to $1 million in liability insurance for injuries, death, or property damages that occur en route to a ride request or while transporting passengers.
If your Lyft driver is liable for the accident, we can help with a claim. However, it is usually not possible to file a lawsuit against a TNC for damages. These services provide a platform linking riders and drivers. They are not employers. Therefore, they are not vicariously liable for drivers’ negligent actions.
If Another Motorist Is At Fault
All Georgia motorists must have automobile liability insurance. The Office of the Commissioner of Insurance and Safety Fire states that minimum coverage must include $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage, as well as $25,000 in property damage liability.
We can help you pursue a claim for damages up to the at-fault driver’s coverage limits. If that does not satisfy your losses, we can seek additional awards with a lawsuit.
Click to contact our personal injury lawyers today
Georgia’s Statute of Limitations
If your Lyft gets into an accident, do not wait too long to seek compensation. According to O.C.G.A § 9-3-33, you have two years to file a personal injury or wrongful death case in Georgia’s civil courts. The court will likely dismiss your case if you do not meet the deadline. An expired statute of limitations can also reduce your bargaining power when seeking an insurance settlement.
A lawyer with our firm can get started before time runs out. We can prepare and file your claim or lawsuit, collect evidence proving liability, show that you suffered injuries and financial losses, and negotiate on your behalf.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Contact Kaine Law
An attorney with our firm can help you pursue your losses with an insurance claim or lawsuit against the at-fault party. Contact Kaine Law today to learn more about how we can help after a Georgia Lyft accident. Free consultations. Call 24/7.
Call or text 404-214-2001 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form