You have several pathways for obtaining a motorcycle license in Georgia, including taking a Motorcycle Safety Program Course.By taking steps to get a motorcycle license, you can build the necessary knowledge and skill to operate the vehicle.
Like any person operating a motor vehicle, having a proper license is a legal requirement. For riders who choose to drive without a license, this puts the rider in danger and risks many legal consequences.
Obtaining a Class M license in Georgia
Georgia requires that all riders have a motorcycle license, per the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS). This license is called a Class M license. Georgia is also one of the few states that offer riders a Motorcycle Instructional Permit; or a Class MP Permit.
The core requirements for obtaining a Class M license are:
- You must be at least 17 years old.
- You must pass a motorcycle skills test.
In addition, you should also expect to:
- Present several forms of identifying documentation
- Pass a vision test and a motorcycle knowledge test
- Pay a license fee
You’ll want to schedule a road test appointment through the Georgia DDS and prepare your documentation before the test.
Georgia Motorcycle Safety Program (GMSP)
To prepare to pass the motorcycle skills test, you can enroll in a Motorcycle Safety Program Course. This will allow you to receive training in motorcycle skills before you apply for a license.
If you choose to seek out this training, the course administrators could provide you with a motorcycle and helmet during the course. The fee for training is $250.
Apply for a License Without Taking the Safety Program
If you already own a motorcycle and believe you can pass the skills test without additional training, you have the option to do so. The Georgia DDS Customer Service Center allows you to apply directly at the center.
This process will involve taking a knowledge test and a skills test. You could also be subject to a vision test.
For a free legal consultation, call 404-214-2001
Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF) and Rider Education
Georgia provides a 90-day license waiver for those students over the age of 17 who pass the basic motorcycle course. The Georgia DDS will waive the written and riding test portion of your Georgia motorcycle application. They would do so for 90 days following your date of graduation from the course. So, the paperwork is the only thing you have to complete.
Even better, many insurance companies will give motorcycle riders who have completed a formal riding education program a discount on their insurance.
Other Steps That Motorcyclists Can Take for Their Safety
Learning to operate a motorcycle correctly is imperative to your safety. However, this is only the beginning of what you can do to protect your safety on the roads.
You may also want to consider taking the following steps:
- Always wear a helmet: Wearing a helmet as a motorcyclist is mandated by Georgia law, per C.G.A. § 40-6-315. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) also notes that wearing a helmet is the most effective way to prevent fatalities among motorcyclists.
- Drive sober: According to the Insurance Information Institute (III), 34% of motorcyclist fatalities were attributed to the motorcyclist’s alcohol use. By driving sober, you can take steps to ensure that you’re on the road with your full mental and physical capabilities intact.
- Understand your rights: You should be able to expect a certain level of care from other drivers on the roads. If you are in an accident with someone who didn’t look twice before turning into your lane, for instance, we could help.
Click to contact our personal injury lawyers today
If You Were in a Motorcycle Accident Without a License in Georgia
For those who do find themselves without a license during an accident, you could face fines and uncertainty about how to seek the compensation you need. We may be able to help you understand your options.
In Georgia, you should know that you can seek compensation if someone else’s negligence caused an accident. You could recover damages as long as you are deemed less than 50% responsible for the crash.
Of course, successfully seeking compensation in a motorcycle accident claim is another matter—especially if you were cited for not wearing a helmet. The good news is that you can seek out a free consultation with our team. Let us tell you about how we may be able to help you proceed.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
We Can Help You Seek Damages If Negligence Leads to an Accident
If you were in a motorcycle accident someone else caused, we could help you seek the compensation you may need to recover. Our team can help you file an insurance claim with the negligent party and seek fair compensation for your injuries.
- Gather evidence of negligence and prove liability
- Show the extent of your injuries and losses
- Negotiate with an insurance company on your behalf
- Keep you updated on the progress of your case
- Advise you about accepting settlement offers
- Seek awards for you through a court trial, if necessary
Motorcycle riders can frequently face automatic blame for an accident—even if they were not at fault. We can work to show the facts of your case and fight for your interests from start to finish in an injury case.
Call Kaine Law if You’re in Pain
When someone else causes your accident and injuries, we can help you pursue the recovery you may deserve. We have decades of experience and understand how to help victims of motorcycle accidents.