You can get up to 14 points on your driver’s license in Georgia within 24 consecutive months without losing your license. Once you accumulate 15 points or more, you may face penalties, including the suspension of your driver’s license.
If you have too many points on your Georgia driver’s license, our firm may be able to help.
What Are “Points” on Your Driver’s License?
The points system in Georgia is a demerit system that adds points to your license for certain traffic violations. O.C.G.A. § 40-5-57 establishes the points system, assigning between two and six points for specific violations.
Here are some examples of common traffic violations and their points’ value:
- Aggressive driving = six points
- Reckless driving = four points
- Possessing an open container of alcohol while driving = two points
- Violation of child safety restraint requirements, first offense = one point
- Violation of child safety restraint requirements, second or subsequent offense = two points
Speeding can also add points to your driver’s license. Driving less than 14 miles per hour over the speed limit and driving too fast for conditions will not add any points to your license. However, driving more than 14 miles per hour over the limit will.
Speed violations add between two and six points to your license, depending on how fast you were driving. The Georgia Department of Driver Services (GDDS) provides a detailed list of violations and points.
Drinking and Driving Does Not Add “Hits” to Your License
While driving with an open container of alcohol will add points to your license, driving under the influence will not. People convicted of driving under the influence face specific penalties, including license suspension, traffic fines, and even jail time.
For a free legal consultation, call 404-214-2001
Penalties for Points on Your Driver’s License
The purpose of the points system is to keep negligent and dangerous drivers, especially those who repeatedly violate traffic laws, off the road. A driver who accumulates 15 points or more within 24 consecutive months will have his license suspended.
Here are the suspension guidelines:
- There is a one-year suspension for a driver who accumulates 15 points or more within 24 consecutive months.
- There is a three-year suspension for a driver who accumulates 15 points or more for a second time within five years.
- There is a two-year suspension for a driver who accumulates 15 points or more for a third time within five years.
How Can You Reduce the Points on Your Driver’s License?
There are a few ways to reduce the number of points on your driver’s license. Our firm can help you reduce your points. Here are some of your options if you face a traffic violation:
Plead no Contest
Georgia residents who are over age 21 can plead no contest to traffic violation charges once every five years. If you plead no contest, no charges will be added to your driver’s license, but the violation will stay on your driving record. Your insurance rates may also go up.
Attend Defensive Driving School
O.C.G.A. § 40-5-86 allows Georgia drivers to reduce their accumulated points by up to seven points after completing an approved defensive driving course. Drivers can only exercise this option once every five years.
To receive this reduction, drivers must submit their certificates of completion to a GDDS customer service center in person or by mail.
Dispute the Traffic Violation Charge
Drivers can also fight back against traffic violation charges in court. If you choose to dispute your charges, you must plead “not guilty” to them. Georgia laws vary from county to county, so check your ticket for information specific to your case, such as where you must go to court. If you want to dispute the charges, make sure you do not pay the ticket because that is a legal admission of guilt.
While you can dispute charges on your own, you may find that a lawyer who is familiar with the courts and Georgia traffic laws can help you.
Click to contact our personal injury lawyers today
Our Firm Can Represent You in Court After a Traffic Violation
A lawyer with our firm can help you fight a traffic violation in court. We can handle every aspect of your case, from entering your initial not guilty plea to representing you at trial.
- Meet important deadlines
- Investigate the traffic incident
- Collect evidence
- Argue your case in court
- Call on witnesses, including the police officer who wrote your ticket
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Kaine Law Is Ready to Help with Your Driver’s License-Related Issues
If you have too many points on your driver’s license in Georgia, Kaine Law is ready to help. Our team can evaluate your case for free and advise you moving forward.
Contact our office today by calling (404) 214-2001 to learn more about how we can help you.
Call or text 404-214-2001 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form