Kaine Law can assist you with seeking workers’ compensation benefits if you sustained a workplace injury in Lawrenceville, GA. Our Lawrenceville workers’ compensation lawyers can pursue a claim to recover your personal and financial losses, medical expenses, and more.
Workers’ Compensation Is Mandatory in Georgia
Georgia law states that any employer with more than two workers is required to have workers’ compensation insurance. Qualifying employers may include private businesses and local, county, and state governments.
Workers’ compensation provides benefits for employees injured at work or while performing job duties. Coverage begins on your first day of employment.
For a free legal consultation with a workers' compensation lawyer serving Lawrenceville, call 404-214-2001
Workers’ Compensation Pays Medical and Wage Benefits
Our Lawrenceville workers’ compensation lawyers can help you file a claim to recover:
The National Safety Council (NSC) records the top five causes of workplace injury as:
- Exposure to harmful substances and environments
- Falls, slips, and trips
- Contact with objects and equipment
- Transportation incidents
These accidents can lead to severe and fatal injuries, including traumatic brain injuries (TBIs), back and spinal injuries, broken bones, and internal damage.
If you sustained a catastrophic injury, your medical bills may be significant. You should not have to shoulder these costs alone. Our Georgia injury attorneys can help you file your claim for workers’ compensation benefits and fight to get your medical expenses approved. Benefits may include the cost of:
- Doctor visits
- Hospital stays
- Medical procedures
- Prescription drugs
- Physical therapy
- Mobility aids and medical devices
- Expenses for medically-necessary travel
You can collect medical payments for up to 400 weeks or until you reach maximum medical improvement (MMI) for your injury. If you have a catastrophic injury, you may qualify for lifetime benefits.
A Portion of Your Pre-Injury Wages
O.C.G.A. § 34-9-220 states that your injuries must prevent you from working for at least seven days before you can apply for wage benefits. Additionally, you will not receive back pay for the first seven days unless your injury incapacitates you for a minimum of 21 days.
Workers’ compensation figures the amount of your wage replacement and the duration of your benefits on the severity and permanency of your injury:
- Temporary partial disability (TPD). TPD is for injuries that result in a partial disability for a temporary length of time. You can apply for TPD if you can do some work while injured but cannot immediately return to the job you did before your accident or illness. O.C.G.A. § 34-9-262 states that TPD payments equal two-thirds of the difference between your pre- and post-injury income. Payments can last for 350 weeks.
- Permanent partial disability (PPD). According to O.C.G.A. § 34-9-263, PPD is for injuries that cause a partial disability from permanent loss or loss of use of organs or appendages, or from the partial loss of your ability to use your body. PPD benefits provide two-thirds of your average weekly wage. How long you can receive benefits depends on your injury type. For example, the statute specifies up to 225 weeks of payments for the loss of an arm and 135 weeks for the loss of a foot.
- Total disability. You may qualify for temporary total disability (TTD) benefits if your workplace accident caused a totally debilitating injury that will last a temporary time. Benefits last 400 weeks and amount to two-thirds of your pre-injury wages. However, according to O.C.G.A. § 34-9-261, if your injury is catastrophic or causes long-term disability, you could receive benefits for life or until you experience lasting improvement.
You can apply for workers’ compensation death benefits if your family member suffered a fatal work injury. O.C.G.A. § 34-9-265 states that a spouse, dependent children, or dependent stepchildren can receive two-thirds of the loved one’s pre-injury weekly wage for up to 400 weeks (or until dependency ends). Additionally, families can recover a portion or the total amount of funeral and burial expenses.
Lawrenceville Workers' Compensation Lawyer Near Me 404-214-2001
Our Georgia Lawyers Can Help You Take Legal Action Against Liable Parties
Under the workers’ compensation system, you usually cannot sue your employer, but you can file a liability claim or lawsuit against another person or entity involved in your accident. Potentially liable third parties may include:
- Contractors and subcontractors
- Maintenance companies
- Equipment suppliers
- Clients and customers
Taking legal action allows our Lawrenceville injury lawyers to recover damages not available through workers’ compensation, such as:
- Complete wage replacement – including your total weekly wages, lost health benefits, lost retirement contributions, tips, bonuses, vacation pay, and other income
- Awards for Pain and Suffering – including compensation for physical pain, emotional suffering, mental anguish, and reduced quality of life
- Wrongful death damages – including the full value of your loved one’s lost wages, compensation for future lost income and inheritance, and awards for the loss of your family member’s support, services, council, care, and guidance
Click to contact our Workers' Compensation lawyers today
Workers’ Compensation Deadlines
You must tell your employer about your accident within 30 days. Additionally, you must file your workers’ compensation claim within one year of the date of your accident. Failing to meet these deadlines could disqualify you from receiving benefits.
You can pursue a third party for damages for up to two years following your accident, per O.C.G.A § 9-3-33. Additionally, the statute gives you up to two years to file a wrongful death lawsuit. This deadline will also affect liability insurance claims.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Contact Our Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Serving Lawrenceville
Kaine Law has decades of experience helping injured Georgia residents. We care deeply about our clients and getting the awards they need to help them get back on their feet. Our Lawrenceville attorneys can file your initial workers’ compensation claim, appeal denied benefits, or take third-party legal action.
Contact us today for a no-cost, no-obligation case evaluation and find out how we can assist with your workers’ compensation claim or personal injury lawsuit at no upfront cost to you.
Call or text 404-214-2001 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form