If you suffered an injury while on the job, you may qualify for compensation for your medical bills, lost wages, and more. A Conyers workers’ compensation lawyer with Kaine Law can help you apply for benefits or appeal a denied claim. Our Conyers personal injury lawyers may also be able to help you seek additional compensation from a liable third party.
Workers’ Compensation Covers Most Employees in Conyers
The Georgia State Board of Workers’ Compensation (SBWC) reports that employers in Georgia must carry workers’ compensation insurance if they employ three or more workers, including regular part-time employees.
To qualify for workers’ compensation benefits, you must have an injury or illness that occurred while on the job or due to workplace exposure. According to the National Safety Council (NSC), common causes of work-related injuries include:
- Motor vehicle collisions
- Slips, trips, and falls
- Falls from heights
- Equipment accidents
- Being struck, caught, or crushed
- Exposure to radiation, harmful substances, and contagions
- Overexertion and repetitive stress
For a free legal consultation with a workers' compensation lawyer serving Conyers, call 404-214-2001
Injured Workers in Conyers Can Apply for Medical Benefits
According to the SBWC, workers’ compensation pays for all of your accident-related medical costs, including doctor visits, hospitalizations, physical therapy, prescription drugs, medical devices, and medical travel expenses. However, you must receive treatment from an SBWC-authorized physician approved by your employer.
You can receive medical benefits for up to 400 weeks (about seven and a half years). You may qualify for lifetime benefits if you suffered a catastrophic injury.
Conyers Workers' Compensation Lawyer Near Me 404-214-2001
Workers’ Compensation Provides Partial Wage Replacement
If your injury prevents you from performing your job for seven or more days, you can seek compensation for lost wages. How much wage replacement you receive depends on the nature of your injuries:
Temporary Partial Disability (TPD)
You can receive TPD benefits if you have a temporary injury and can perform some type of work but cannot do the same job as before your injury. According to O.C.G.A. § 34-9-262, TPD provides up to two-thirds of the difference between your current wage and your pre-injury weekly wage (not to exceed $450 per week) for up to 350 weeks.
Permanent Partial Disability (PPD)
If your injury results in a permanent partial disability, you may qualify for PPD benefits based on the schedule outlined in O.C.G.A. § 34-9-263.
If your accident resulted in a totally disabling injury, but your disability is not permanent, you can seek temporary total disability (TTD) benefits. Per SBWC, TTD pays up to two-thirds of your average weekly wage (not to exceed $725 per week) for up to 400 weeks. However, if you suffered a catastrophic injury resulting in a permanent total disability (PTD), you may qualify for lifetime benefits.
Click to contact our Workers' Compensation lawyers today
Workers’ Compensation Death Benefits
Workers’ compensation provides death benefits to the families of employees who suffer fatal workplace injuries. If your loved one died on or after July 1, 2022, you may qualify for wage replacement benefits for up to two-thirds of their average weekly wage (not to exceed $725 per week).
Qualifying family members include the deceased’s surviving spouse, dependent children, or dependent stepchildren. Workers’ compensation also pays for funeral and burial expenses up to $7,500, per O.C.G.A. 34-9-265.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Our Lawyers Can Assist With Third-Party Personal Injury Cases
Accepting workers’ compensation benefits usually excludes you from taking legal action against your employer. However, if a third party caused or contributed to your workplace accident, you may have grounds for a personal injury claim or lawsuit.
In addition to medical expenses, a personal injury case allows you to pursue:
Full Wage Replacement
A lawsuit or liability claim may allow you to seek the full value of your lost wages, rather than a portion of your wages restricted by a weekly cap. Our attorneys can pursue your back pay, lost medical and retirement benefits, bonuses, tips, and other earnings. In addition, if you suffered a disabling injury, you may qualify for compensation for your lost earning potential.
Pain and Suffering Damages
Injuries can cause more than financial losses. Severe injuries can also lead to significant physical, mental, and emotional suffering. We can help you seek monetary awards for depression, mental anguish, scarring, disfigurement, permanent and debilitating injuries, and loss of enjoyment of life.
Wrongful Death Compensation
In Georgia, a deceased’s surviving spouse, children, or parents (in that order) can pursue compensation for a death caused by another party’s negligence or wrongful actions.
Wrongful death awards may include medical expenses, funeral and burial expenses, lost wages, and loss of the deceased’s support, services, care, guidance, and companionship.
Kaine Law Can Help You File Your Workers’ Compensation Claim
If you or your loved one suffered injuries in a workplace accident in Conyers, our lawyers can guide you through your workers’ compensation claim. Attorney Evan Kaine and his team will:
- File your initial claims
- Collect supporting evidence, including medical records, eyewitness statements, workplace accident reports, and testimony from subject matter experts
- Handle all communications with insurance agents and other involved parties
- Negotiate for the benefits you deserve
- Appeal denied claims and represent you throughout the appeals process
- Investigate your accident and take action against a third party if applicable
Do not wait too long to start your workers’ compensation case. According to the SBWC, you must report your workplace accident to your employer within 30 days of when it happened, or you may be ineligible for benefits. Additionally, you have one year from your accident to file a workers’ compensation claim.
If you have a denied workers’ compensation claim, there are strict deadlines regarding the appeals process. Our Conyers workers’ comp lawyers can tell you more and ensure you act within prescribed time limits.
Your attorney can also ensure you take third-party legal action on time. According to O.C.G.A. § 9-3-33, you have two years to file a personal injury or wrongful death lawsuit.
Start Working With a Conyers Workers’ Compensation Attorney at Kaine Law Today
Kaine Law can help you seek the compensation you need to care for yourself and your family at no upfront or out-of-pocket cost. Contact us for a free consultation to learn more about how a Conyers workers’ compensation lawyer from our team can advocate for you.