When you carry the minimum liability coverage in Atlanta, your car insurance will cover other drivers if you are found to be at fault for an accident. This is because Georgia is a fault state, meaning the at-fault driver covers the victim’s losses in an accident.
Georgia has laws regarding the minimum liability coverage all drivers must carry and laws for seeking compensation when the fault is shared.
Georgia’s Insurance Laws
According to the Georgia Office of Commissioner of Insurance and Fire Safety (OCI), the minimum liability coverage requirements for all motorists include:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury; $50,000 per accident
- $25,000 per accident for property damage
Additional Forms of Coverage Available
Aside from the minimum liability requirements, insurers offer other optional coverage that may come in handy when you least expect it. For example, collision coverage would pay to fix your own car in the event of an accident. In contrast, comprehensive coverage would pay for damage if you collided with an object or were the victim of vandalism or theft.
Uninsured motorist coverage (UM) would help pay for vehicle damage if an uninsured motorist hit you. These optional coverages may cost you more per month, but they can be invaluable when an unforeseen event occurs.
If you forgo adding these forms of coverage and an investigation into your accident reveals you bear more fault than the other driver, you will be left to pay for your own medical expenses and property damage.
For a free legal consultation, call 404-214-2001
Contributory Negligence Laws
If the parties involved in the accident share the fault, OCGA §51-12-33 would come into effect. This contributory negligence statute mandates that claimants can still seek compensation as long as they do not share more of the fault than the other driver or drivers.
This law will determine if your car insurance covers the other driver after an Atlanta accident. For example, if the other driver bore more fault than you, they will not be able to file a claim through your provider.
Insurance Rates May Increase
If another driver makes a claim and the adjuster determines you were more to blame for the accident than the other driver is, you may see an increase in your insurance rate. This can become a financial burden for a family, but it is possible to challenge the determination of fault.
Click to contact our personal injury lawyers today
A Lawyer from Our Firm Can Help You Get to the Bottom of Your Atlanta Accident
If you suspect the other driver was more negligent, you can take legal action to prove their liability. A lawyer with our firm can conduct their own investigation into the accident to help establish the other driver’s liability.
To do so, they will demonstrate the four elements of negligence:
- Duty of care
- Breach of duty
Once they determine the other driver’s negligence led to the accident, they can pursue an insurance claim with their provider to seek compensation for your losses. Along with investigating your accident, our lawyers can:
- Calculate your damages
- Communicate with insurers and the liable party
- Negotiate for a fair settlement
- Help you avoid accepting a low-ball offer
- File a personal injury lawsuit
- Represent you in a trial
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Potential Damages You Can Recover
When an accident causes you injuries, you can seek compensation for how those injuries affect your life. You may be facing hospital bills and lost wages from time away from work.
Some damages you can seek include:
- Pain and suffering
- Lost wages
- Doctor’s visits
- Therapy and rehabilitation
- Disfigurement and scarring
- Loss of quality of life
- Reduced earning capacity
If you lost a loved one due to an Atlanta car accident, we could pursue wrongful death damages, which may include:
- Your loved one’s medical bills from their injuries
- Your loved one’s pain and suffering before their passing
- Burial and funeral expenses
- Loss of consortium
- Loss of inheritance
Deadlines for Filing a Lawsuit
You do not have forever to bring your case to court if negotiations with insurers do not yield fair compensation. Under OCGA §9-3-33, you only have the right to file a personal injury lawsuit for up to two years from the date of the accident.
Act quickly to start your case and preserve your right to take legal action.
Kaine Law Can Handle Your Case
While your Atlanta car insurance will cover the other driver, you may suspect they were the at-fault driver in your accident. We can help you by investigating your case and demonstrating the other party’s liability so you can seek compensation for your losses.
We offer free consultations, and we do not collect payment unless we secure a settlement or court-awarded offer on your behalf. Discuss your legal options when you call Kaine Law at (404) 214-2001. You are under no obligation to begin a case, and you may discover you have a right to recover damages from your accident.